We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Can their love survive the battles they’ll have to face?

For the Love of a Soldier is a gritty and compelling saga of love, war and prejudice in 1940s Southampton docklands, from much-loved author June Tate. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Josephine Cox.


‘What a tangled and wonderful wartime web is weaved here’ – Northern Echo

Maggie Evans is living with her parents at their docklands pub in Southampton when the GIs arrive to support the British troops in 1943. She’s never met anyone like American Steve Rossi, and it’s hard to resist his good looks and easy confidence. But there’s another side to Steve, and when he pulls a knife during a fight, Maggie begins to wonder what other secrets he’s concealing.

Joshua Lewis is everything Steve’s not: kind, considerate and honest. And he’s black. When he and Maggie become friends, Steve’s true colours are revealed; he’s a bigot as well as a dangerous criminal. Maggie realises only just in time that it’s Joshua, not Steve, she loves. But can she and Joshua make a go of it in a world set against them?

What readers are saying about For the Love of a Soldier:

‘This book was a joy from start to finish

Excellent love story with the back drop of WWII’

Super bookfive stars

Reviews

What a tangled and wonderful wartime web is weaved here
Northern Echo
A page-turner for all saga lovers
Katie Fforde
Excellent and gripping... compelling. I am eagerly awaiting June Tate's next offering
Sussex Life
Her debut book caused a stir among Cookson and Cox devotees, and they'll love this
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Tate has a marvellous grasp of the subtleties and complexities of human relationships. Her books are always guaranteed to touch the hearts of her readers
Lancashire Evening Post
Compulsive reading
Woman’s Weekly