We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

When offered a chance for escape, Gemma doesn’t think twice. But is she walking headlong into danger?

An evocative and engrossing saga, Better Days by June Tate is the story of one young woman grasping adventure with both hands. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Sheila Newberry.


‘From virtually the first page this novel is almost impossible to put down’ – Evening Telegraph

Gemma Barrett has a good job in a Southampton department store and a blossoming romance with the enigmatic Nick Weston, a first officer with the RMS Queen Mary. Life would be good if it wasn’t for her mother, Eve, who likes more to drink than is good for her. And when Gemma’s dad walks out and Eve starts bringing strange men home, Gemma doesn’t know where to turn.

Desperate to escape, she seizes the opportunity to be a stewardess on the Queen Mary, voyaging to and from New York. But a chance encounter with Vince Morelli, a gang boss in the New York docks, looks set to jeopardise her newfound happiness.

What readers are saying about Better Days:

‘This is a story that is not all plain sailing, but with a few giant waves in the way for our leading characters to overcome. With a touch of crime added to the plot this is a really entertaining and enjoyable read

Better Days has a very good storyline and gets your interest from the first page’

‘A super read – five stars

Reviews

From virtually the first page this novel is almost impossible to put down
Evening Telegraph
A page-turner for all saga lovers
Katie Fforde
Excellent and gripping... compelling. I am eagerly awaiting June Tate's next offering
Sussex Life
Her debut book caused a stir among Cookson and Cox devotees, and they'll love this
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Tate has a marvellous grasp of the subtleties and complexities of human relationships. Her books are always guaranteed to touch the hearts of her readers
Lancashire Evening Post
Compulsive reading
Woman’s Weekly