We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Ferryman's Daughter

The Ferryman's Daughter

‘I absolutely loved it. Hester is one heck of a woman!’ Heidi Swain

‘A charming book seasoned with romance and a sprinkling of danger’ Western Mail

Can Hester help her family escape desperate poverty and fulfil her dreams?



1908:
Hester always loved her mother best, her father had always been a hard man to like, spending more time (and money) in the local than with his family. After her mother’s sudden death, followed by an injury forcing her father to give up his job as the ferryman, Hester is placed in the position of care-giver for her young brother and sister.

As the years pass Hester must row the ferry night and day to keep them all from starvation, while her hopes of working in a kitchen and one day becoming a cook, slip further and further away.

But just how far is Hester willing to go to make her dream a reality? And as the threat of war comes ever closer to the Cornish coast, will it bring opportunities or despair for Hester and her family?

A gripping family saga perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Glenda Young and Mollie Walton. Escape to the Cornish coast and discover a strong woman who will do anything for her family and for her dreams…

Readers are already falling in love with Hester:

‘This was a superb read, and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment’
Being Anne

‘A sublime novel, written deftly, and with a keen attention to detail’ Netgalley reviewer

‘Lovely family saga book’ Netgalley reviewer
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 14th May 2020

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409196587