Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Spirited

Spirited

Three women carry unspeakable truths in their heart. At what cost will they find their freedom?

In Victorian England, Viola is an amateur photographer struggling with the grief of her father’s death and the sterile atmosphere of her marriage to her childhood friend, Jonah. When she discovers a talent for capturing ghostly images on camera, Viola comes to the attention of a spirit medium, and a powerful attraction between the two women is sparked… As each woman puts herself at risk, secrets are brought to light that will change their lives forever.

Driven by passionate, courageous female characters, and exploring themes of sexuality, gender and prejudice, Spirited is your next unforgettable read. Perfect for fans of The Binding, The Familiars, and Once Upon a River.

********

Praise for Julie Cohen’s storytelling:

‘Not often does a story remind us of what beautifully complex creatures we are. Julie Cohen has given us that rare gift’ Christina Dalcher, author of VOX

Moving and beautiful’ Joanna Cannon

‘Elegant, thoughtful and powerfulDaisy Buchanan

‘One of the most beautiful and heartbreaking stories I’ve read’ Emma Flint

Original, poignant and beautifully told’ S Magazine

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 9th July 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781409179870