We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘A splendid story of heartbreaking consequences and ambition during the Spanish Civil War… A recommended read Glynis Peters, bestselling author of The Secret Orphan

***

A country torn apart by war.

Two love stories divided by decades.
One chance to discover the truth…

Feisty journalist Isabella has never known the truth about her family. Escaping from a dangerous assignment in the turbulent Basque country, she finds her world turned upside down, firstly by her irresistible attraction to the mysterious Rafael, and then by a new clue to her own past.

As she begins to unravel the tangled story of her identity, Isabella uncovers a story of passion, betrayal and loss that reaches back to the dark days of Spain’s civil war – when a passionate Spanish girl risked everything for her country, and for the young British rebel who captured her heart.

But can Isabella trust the man she’s fallen in love with? Or are some wartime secrets better left undisturbed…?

Heartbreaking, gripping historical fiction about the tragedy of war, and the redemption of love. Perfect for fans of Angela Petch’s The Tuscan Secret and Kathryn Hughes’ The Letter.

***


Praise for The Spanish Girl:


‘An outstanding read… Epic, personal, intimate and beautifully written Lizzie Page, author of The Forgotten Girls

‘A compelling tale of friendship, love and loss. Impeccably researched, the story is full of surprisesRhiannon Ward, author of The Quickening

‘A fabulous read of love, loss, loyalty and bravery set against the fascinating backdrop of the Spanish War. I was engrossed from the start and a must read for fans of dual timeline women’s fiction’ Suzanne Fortin, author of The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger