We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

She must endure horror and heartache, but can she dare to hope for happiness?

In a tale of secrets and intrigue, Josephine Cox writes a gritty family saga in Jessica’s Girl. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.


Despite a deathbed warning from her beloved mother, Phoebe Mulligan has no choice but to throw herself on the mercy of her uncle, Edward. Wrenched from all she holds dear, the tragic young girl is delivered to Blackburn town, where she must live in a household terrorised by the cold, forbidding presence of her mother’s brother.

Phoebe cannot understand why she is treated so harshly by Edward Dickens. She is not to know the guilty secret that lies in his past, a secret that casts a sinister shadow over his feelings for his lovely niece…

What readers are saying about Jessica’s Girl:

‘A very good read, keeps you guessing until the end. Found it hard to put down

Great story like always – [Josephine Cox] takes me to another world

‘[Josephine Cox’s] books never fail to keep me interested and intrigued as to the outcome. Really enjoyable

Reviews

Driven and passionate
The Sunday Times
Impossible to resist
Woman's Realm
Josephine Cox brings so much freshness to the plot, and the characters ... A Cookson by any other name
Birmingham Post
Hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson
Manchester Evening News