We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A snatched child, a cryptic message and a secret that will tear two lives apart.

Twenty years ago, one-year-old Lauren disappeared.

Now, ex-policeman Tom Lomax gets a mysterious offer from an heiress, Sara. She wants him to fly to her private island, all expenses paid. He cannot help but be intrigued. But Sara has received a troubling message and, despite all the privileges in her life, she now has no one to turn to and doesn’t know whom she can trust.

In a matter of hours, both will be thrown headfirst into a race against time that will challenge everything they’ve believed in and change both their lives for ever.

An action-packed, nail-biting thriller with a heart-wrenching story of loss at its core, THE VANISHING is the brand new novel from acclaimed thriller writer John Connor.

Why readers love John Connor:

‘A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.’ Sunday Telegraph
‘He’s created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.’ Mirror
‘John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.’ Irish Independent
‘The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.’ Daily Express

Fans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:

Karen Sharpe
1. Phoenix
2. Playroom
3. A Child’s Game
4. Falling
5. Unsafe

Standalone
1. The Vanishing
2. The Ice House

* Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Reviews

Fast-moving with plenty of exotic locations and tense action, this is a highly entertaining thriller.
Sunday Mirror
The action never stops in this exciting thriller about the pathological amorality of the hyper-rich and the heartbreak of their pawns
Morning Star
A superbly created story of betrayal, greed and a mother's agony over her lost child. You can't put it down
Peterborough Evening Telegraph