We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781529425253

Price: £20

ON SALE: 15th September 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

“Spectacular . . . drops the reader through one trapdoor into another A.J. FINN

It all starts with an innocuous curiosity: at the Hotel de Verbier, a luxury hotel in the Swiss Alps, there is no Room 622.
This anomaly piques the interest of Joël Dicker, Switzerland’s most famous literary star, who flees to the Verbier to recover from a bad breakup, mourn the death of his publisher, and begin his next novel.

Before he knows it, he’s coaxed out of his slump by a fellow guest, who quickly uncovers the reason behind Room 622’s erasure: an unsolved murder. The attendant circumstances: a love triangle and a power struggle at the heart of Switzerland’s largest private bank, a mysterious counter-intelligence unit known only as P-30, and a shadowy émigré with more money than God.

A Russian doll of a mystery crafted with the precision of a Swiss watch, The Enigma of Room 622 is Joël Dicker’s most diabolically addictive thriller yet.

Praise for Joël Dicker

“It’s that most engaging of treats, a big, fat, intelligent thriller” SIMON MAYO

“Dicker has the first-rate crime novelist’s ability to lead his readers up the garden path” Sunday Express


Translated from the French by Robert Bononno

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Dicker has the first-rate crime novelist's ability to lead his readers up the garden path
Sunday Express
Joël Dicker really knows how to tell a great story
Valeurs Actuelles
In book after book, this astonishingly talented (and astonishingly young) author approaches genres we might dismiss as shopworn - the campus mystery, the family drama, the out-of-the-past whodunit - and with a flourish, whips them into spectacular new shapes. And in The Enigma of Room 622 - as you'll learn early on, there is no Room 622 - Dicker salutes Agatha Christie even as he drops the reader through one trapdoor into another, so that by the end, we doubt we've ever read another novel quite like it. (We haven't.) Fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley will hug this book in between chapters; the many readers who love Anthony Horowitz's mysteries will celebrate. And me? I'll be reading it again
A.J. Finn