Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Koala Who Could

On sale

9th February 2017

Price: £7.99

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781408331644

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A funny rhyming story about dealing with change and overcoming worries, from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside.

In a wonderful place, at the breaking of dawn, where the breezes were soft and the sunshine was warm, a place where the creatures ran wild and played free … A Koala called Kevin clung to a tree.

Meet Kevin. A koala who likes to keep things the same. Exactly the same. But sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not… And, as Kevin discovers, if you step outside your comfort zone and try new things, you might just surprise yourself!

WINNER of the Sainsbury’s Book Award and the Evening Standard Oscar’s Book Prize!

‘Fabulous rhymes, I’m in love with Kevin and would like to buy this for all my friends’ children.’ Claudia Winkleman

‘A feel-good rhyming tale . . . Field’s Australian animals are a treat’ – Bookseller

Reviews

Booktopia
Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change ...Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.
Evening Standard
The idea that you can't eradicate fear but can learn to manage it is a complex message made wodnerfully accesible.
Daily Mail
This is a joyful affirmation of adventure and is perfect for any shy, nervous readers, as well as those little ones who are a shade more rambunctious
Red Reading Hub
What delectable scenes Jim Field has created to accompany Rachel Bright's catchy, fun to read aloud, rhyming narrative
Huffington Post
A charming rhyming tale about a koala averse to change who discovers that taking small risks can lead to big adventures
The Mail Online
Bright's fun rhyming narrative is perfectly complemented by Jim Field's bold illustrations in an inspiring story about Kevin the cautious koala who learns that stepping outside your comfort zone can lead to big adventures.
Caroline Horn, Reading Zone
...a wonderful, fun, joyful story to read and to share.
Sunday Independent
A feel good rhyming story...good to read aloud.
ReaditDaddy
Rachel's rhymes are sublime ... Jim Field's humorous animal illustrations are fab, fab, FAB ... a sunshiney book full of fun
Inis
A perfect tale for cautious children
Evening Echo (Cork)
There was nothing I disliked in this. This is an amazing book, you should definitely try it.
Parents In Touch
A stylish book with a reassuring message about accepting change.
South Wales Evening Post
This inspiring tale is about learning to let go so to discover new things. Good for bedtime, classrooms and cautious children!