We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781472249968

Price: £16.99

ON SALE: 20th February 2020

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The tenth book in the Sunday Times-bestselling Inspector McLean series, from one of Scotland’s most celebrated crime writers

When a member of the Police Scotland team fails to clock-in for work, concern for her whereabouts is immediate… and the discovery of her burnt-out car in remote woodland to the south of Edinburgh sets off a desperate search for the missing woman.

Meanwhile, DCI Tony McLean and the team are preparing for a major anti-corruption operation – one which may raise the ire of more than a few powerful people in the city. Is Anya Renfrew’s disappearance a co-incidence or related to the case?

McLean’s investigations suggest that perhaps that Anya isn’t the first woman to have mysteriously vanished in these ancient hills. Once again, McLean can’t shake the feeling that there is a far greater evil at work here…

Praise for James Oswald:

‘The new Ian Rankin’ Daily Record

‘Creepy, gritty and gruesome’ Sunday Mirror

‘Crime fiction’s next big thing’ Sunday Telegraph

What's Inside

Read More Read Less


An absolute triumph. Brilliant and terrifying . . . A surefire hit
Jo Spain, author of With Our Blessing
Another rip-roaring tryst with the irrational fears that surface from deep within our collective psyche when faced with the chilling prospect that evil forces might just exist after all. A fear Oswald gleefully manipulates with a sharp turn of phrase and deft touch of Grand Guignol
Líam Rudden, Edinburgh News
A dark and chilling novel. James Oswald is one of this country's consistently superior crime writers. A must read series.
Michael Wood, author of DCI Matilda Darke series

The Inspector McLean Series