We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Dressmaker of Paris

The Dressmaker of Paris

A beautifully written, sweeping historical women’s fiction novel that spans both time and the globe as we follow one woman’s journey from simple country girl to global fashion icon.

I need to tell you a story, ma chère. My story.


Rosa Kusstatscher has built a global fashion empire upon her ability to find the perfect outfit for any occasion. But tonight, as she prepares for the most important meeting of her life, her usual certainty eludes her.

What brought her to this moment? As she struggles to select her dress and choose the right shade of lipstick, Rosa begins to tell her incredible story. The story of a poor country girl from a village high in the mountains of Italy. Of Nazi occupation and fleeing in the night. Of hope and heartbreak in Switzerland; ambition, glamour and love in Paris. Of ambition and devastation in Rio de Janeiro; success and self-discovery in New York.

A life spent running, she sees now. But she will run no longer.

Breathtaking and utterly enthralling, The Dressmaker of Paris is a stunning debut novel that is perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies.

(P) 2021 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 28th January 2021

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781529322897

Reviews

The Dressmaker of Paris by Georgia Kaufmann is a delicious book: elegantly structured, beautifully written and with a fascinating protagonist. I was completely absorbed in Rosa's story and rooting for her throughout her long journey from teenage victim to world famous businesswoman. Georgia Kaufmann has created a beautiful and compelling novel that had me hooked until the very last page. And that ending: wow!
Gill Thompson, bestselling author of THE OCEANS BETWEEN US
Involving, immersive and unputdownable, I raced through it!
Bestselling author Jill Mansell
Sensuous, sweeping and utterly engrossing, the Dressmaker of Paris is as dazzling and finely crafted as a Dior gown.
Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing
The story of a remarkable woman. A book you will lose yourself in.
Gill Paul, bestselling author of THE LOST DAUGHTER
I raced through this beautifully written, elegantly structured book . . . [I was] totally absorbed
On Magazine
I absolutely loved it and devoured it in a couple of days. I found it a brilliant read - funny, touching, clever - and Rosa was such a unique and wonderful central character. The glorious descriptions of the Alps, Paris, Rio and New York just cry out to be made into a film and I can't wait to see it on screen.
Ajay Chowdhury, author of The Waiter
A historical novel with a difference. Delicious descriptions of Chanel perfume bottles and cultural references combine to add sparkle.
My Weekly