We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

By the end of that summer, two people would be dead… Fans of In A Dark Dark Wood and The Couple Next Door will love this twisty thriller.

I have given up so much and done so many terrible things already for the sake of my family that I can only keep going.

I do not know what is going to happen to us.

I am frightened, but I feel strong.

I have the strength of a woman who has everything to lose.


In the sweltering summer of 1997, strait-laced, straight-A student Karen met Biba – a bohemian and impossibly glamorous aspiring actress.

She was quickly drawn into Biba’s world, and for a while life was one long summer of love.

But every summer must end. By the end of theirs, two people were dead – and now Karen’s past has come back to haunt her . . .

STONE MOTHERS, the new novel by Erin Kelly, is available to buy now!

Reviews

A beautifully crafted, evocative psychological thriller . . . dark, poetic, gripping, totally brilliant.
The Times
Brilliant . . . Kelly creates an atmosphere as claustrophobic as a summer commute, which permeates the narrative and keeps the reader hooked.
Stylist
A gripping debut, this thriller has a creeping sense of unease.
<i>Bella</i>
A psychological thriller that will give you chills.
Red
A really great read
<i>Good Housekeeping</i>
A shadowy, impeccably told tale of passion, friendship and murder.
<i>Marie Claire</i>
A tense, twisting thriller . . . Atmospheric and gripping, it will keep you guessing to the end
<i>Cosmopolitan</i>
A terrific suspense debut, reminiscent of another British woman's auspicious bow: Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca . . . This one gets the writer's ultimate bit of praise: I wish I had written it.
Stephen King
A wonderfully tense and foreboding thriller that is at the same time a clever, considered study of desire and a good old-fashioned page-turner.
<i>Psychologies</i>
An author with an eye for the truly creepy.
<i>Independent on Sunday</i>, Books of the Year
Gripping . . . you won't put it down
Look
Tense to the end
<i>Woman & Home</i>
The dark world of psychological thrillers has a bright new voice . . . [a] twisted, brooding, creepy debut.
<i>Daily Mirror</i>
The writing is elegant, atmospheric and sophisticated.
Sophie Hannah
Unusually good . . . an author who instinctively knows how to tell a suspense story (think early Barbara Vine)
<i>Daily Mail</i>
With forensic attention to detail, this mystery is all-consumingly addictive.
<i>Easy Living</i>