We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Poison Tree

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781848942417

Price: £8.99

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

By the end of that summer, two people would be dead… Fans of In A Dark Dark Wood and The Couple Next Door will love this twisty thriller.

I have given up so much and done so many terrible things already for the sake of my family that I can only keep going.

I do not know what is going to happen to us.

I am frightened, but I feel strong.

I have the strength of a woman who has everything to lose.


In the sweltering summer of 1997, strait-laced, straight-A student Karen met Biba – a bohemian and impossibly glamorous aspiring actress.

She was quickly drawn into Biba’s world, and for a while life was one long summer of love.

But every summer must end. By the end of theirs, two people were dead – and now Karen’s past has come back to haunt her . . .

WATCH HER FALL, the dazzling new novel by Erin Kelly, is available to buy now!

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A beautifully crafted, evocative psychological thriller . . . dark, poetic, gripping, totally brilliant.
The Times
Brilliant . . . Kelly creates an atmosphere as claustrophobic as a summer commute, which permeates the narrative and keeps the reader hooked.
Stylist
A gripping debut, this thriller has a creeping sense of unease.
<i>Bella</i>
A psychological thriller that will give you chills.
Red
A really great read
<i>Good Housekeeping</i>
A shadowy, impeccably told tale of passion, friendship and murder.
<i>Marie Claire</i>
A tense, twisting thriller . . . Atmospheric and gripping, it will keep you guessing to the end
<i>Cosmopolitan</i>
A terrific suspense debut, reminiscent of another British woman's auspicious bow: Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca . . . This one gets the writer's ultimate bit of praise: I wish I had written it.
Stephen King
A wonderfully tense and foreboding thriller that is at the same time a clever, considered study of desire and a good old-fashioned page-turner.
<i>Psychologies</i>
An author with an eye for the truly creepy.
<i>Independent on Sunday</i>, Books of the Year
Gripping . . . you won't put it down
Look
Tense to the end
<i>Woman & Home</i>
The dark world of psychological thrillers has a bright new voice . . . [a] twisted, brooding, creepy debut.
<i>Daily Mirror</i>
The writing is elegant, atmospheric and sophisticated.
Sophie Hannah
Unusually good . . . an author who instinctively knows how to tell a suspense story (think early Barbara Vine)
<i>Daily Mail</i>
With forensic attention to detail, this mystery is all-consumingly addictive.
<i>Easy Living</i>