We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Perfect job. Perfect boyfriend. Perfect life. But the universe had other ideas…

The funniest book you’ll read all year! Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary, Mhairi McFarlane and Lucy Vine.

‘Utterly swoon worthy’
‘Just great fun’
‘Fresh, funny and fascinating’
‘A stunning debut’

The stars are not in position – and Krystal Baker is determined to make them fall in line.

It’s Krystal’s 29th birthday. This year:

· Her boyfriend finally proposed after six years of dating (only for her to find out he cheated on her for five and a half of them)

· She landed her dream job as a writer at Craze magazine (which swiftly fell into administration)

· She moved into her dream flat overlooking the city (just for the pipes to explode making the place unliveable)

As she mourns everything wrong in her life, her best friend mutters the dreaded words: Saturn Return. The time in a woman’s life where Saturn returns to the position it was in on the day of their birth, 29.5 years ago, and, according to legend, everything falls apart. Krystal has never bought into astrology but maybe it’s time to re-evaluate – because if the stars got her into this mess, they can get her out of it. And she only has six months to make things right.

Loaded with crystals, horoscopes, tarot cards and a carefully aligned chakra or two, Krystal’s determined to have her life back on track by the time Saturn returns. No longer shall she brand herself a ‘human disaster’ because this time it’s not her fault, it’s written in the treacherous stars.

But can Krystal learn to follow her heart, not her horoscope?


Praise for Ellie Pilcher:

‘Laugh-out-loud funny, brilliantly written and utterly swoon worthy, What Planet Can I Blame This On? is the book we all need right now. Such a fun read!’ – Holly Martin, author of Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls

‘Perfect reading for twenty and thirty-somethings, written in the language of failed relationships and the hope for something better. Wry, witty, insightful, fast-paced and just great fun, this is a fabulous debut. It represents so much of what people go through on the pathway to finding out what they really want. It’s going to be a hugely popular read.’ – Helen Fields, author of the DI Callanach thrillers

‘It’s rare that a book really makes me laugh out loud, but this one did. Krystal’s sassy, authentic narration carries the reader effortlessly as she prepares for her ‘Saturn Return’ and delves into its meaning. I felt as if I were living her problematic life with her! I think I fell in love with Ryan a little before she did . . .’ – Sue Moorcroft, author of One Summer in Italy

A joyous romp into the highs and pitfalls of following your stars.’ – Beth Corby, author of Leave It To Fate

‘What a stunning debut this is! I loved the cast of Krystal and her friends. Throw in a new interest in horoscopes and an episode of Hoarders (I’ve watched the whole series during lockdown) then this is the perfect read, even if it isn’t always written in the stars! An author to look out for!‘ – Catherine Miller, author of Waiting For You

‘Fresh, fun and fascinating from an exciting new talent.’ – Bella Osborne, author of Meet Me at Pebble Beach

‘It’s fresh, wise and hugely funny and real – a celebration of that tricky late twenties stage when you reckon you should have it all figured out – but definitely haven’t. When neither your horoscopes – nor even your very best friends – have all the answers. I loved it!’ – Fiona Gibson, author of The Dog Share

‘Delightful, fun and full of laugh-out-loud moments‘ – Gillian Harvey, author of Perfect On Paper

Reviews

Laugh-out-loud funny, brilliantly written and utterly swoon worthy, What Planet Can I Blame This On? is the book we all need right now. Such a fun read!
Holly Martin, author of Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls
Perfect reading for twenty and thirty-somethings, written in the language of failed relationships and the hope for something better. Wry, witty, insightful, fast-paced and just great fun, this is a fabulous debut. It represents so much of what people go through on the pathway to finding out what they really want. It's going to be a hugely popular read.
Helen Fields, author of the DI Callanach thrillers
It's rare that a book really makes me laugh out loud, but this one did. Krystal's sassy, authentic narration carries the reader effortlessly as she prepares for her 'Saturn Return' and delves into its meaning. I felt as if I were living her problematic life with her! I think I fell in love with Ryan a little before she did . . .
Sue Moorcroft, author of One Summer in Italy
A joyous romp into the highs and pitfalls of following your stars.
Beth Corby, author of Leave It To Fate
What a stunning debut this is! I loved the cast of Krystal and her friends. Throw in a new interest in horoscopes and an episode of Hoarders (I've watched the whole series during lockdown) then this is the perfect read, even if it isn't always written in the stars! An author to look out for!
Catherine Miller, author of Waiting For You
Fresh, fun and fascinating from an exciting new talent.
Bella Osborne, author of Meet Me at Pebble Beach
It's fresh, wise and hugely funny and real - a celebration of that tricky late twenties stage when you reckon you should have it all figured out - but definitely haven't. When neither your horoscopes - nor even your very best friends - have all the answers. I loved it!
Fiona Gibson, author of The Dog Share
Delightful, fun and full of laugh-out-loud moments
Gillian Harvey, author of Perfect On Paper