We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Beloved Poison

Scottish Crime Book of the Year, 2016

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472122285

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 3rd March 2016

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

‘Vivid, pungent and perilous’ CHRIS BROOKMYRE

‘Evocative…brilliant plotting’ REBECCA GRIFFITHS


A dark and richly atmospheric thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Purcell’s The Silent Companions, Sarah Perry’s Melmoth and Elly Griffiths’ The Stranger Diaries.

London, 1846.

Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour’s Infirmary awaits demolition. Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy.

Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing.

And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags. When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary’s old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past – with fatal consequences . . .


Praise for E.S. Thomson:

‘It’s rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones…’ LAURA PURCELL

‘Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable’ DAILY EXPRESS

‘Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark’ JANET ELLIS

‘Jem Flockhart books are the best I’ve read in years’ KIRSTY LOGAN

‘A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing’ MARY PAULSON ELLIS

Reviews

This outstanding debut historical enthrals with its meticulously researched details
Library Journal
You can almost feel the evil miasma rising from the page
Kirkus Reviews
From the first page to the last, I enjoyed every brilliantly written, and often hideous, detail ... A splendid read
Cambridge Magazine
A historical novel to be savoured
Lesley McDowell, The National
Beloved Poison is a marvellous, vivid book with a thoughtful, engaging protagonist at its centre - and a fascinating story to tell. It's immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark. Elaine Thomson's descriptive powers are so great that that I was surprised to see twenty-first century London rather than grimy, smelly St Saviour's around me when I - eventually - looked up from its pages
Janet Ellis, author of <i>The Butcher’s Hook
ES Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer
Kirsty Logan, author of <i> The Gracekeepers </i>
Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night
Alex Gordon, Evening Telegraph