We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

After severing all ties, can she ever reunite with those she left behind?

The Flower Girls is a heart-breaking saga of destructive ambition and the power of family ties, from much-loved author Dee Williams. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Cathy Sharp.


Identical twins Lily and Rose Flowers aren’t from a rich family, but they lead a comfortable life in 1920s Rotherhithe with their mum and dad. The twins are the apple of their parents’ eye, and each other’s best friend – they always know what the other is thinking. Feisty Rose has a more rebellious nature than her sister, but it’s never before interfered with their closeness.

However, Rose’s secret dissatisfaction with her humdrum lifestyle reaches a head when she meets the rich and handsome Rodger. To the shock of the Flowers family, she elopes with him to Gretna Green. Once Rose has the money and glamour she’s always craved, nothing will persuade her to contact her family again; not even her father’s death.

And then, in the wake of the Wall Street Crash of 1929, everything changes. With her charmed life in shreds and with no one left to turn to, Rose is determined to build bridges to those she has hurt the most. But can forgiveness be sought so easily – and can she ever truly escape her troubled past?

What readers are saying about The Flower Girls:

‘I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Dee Williams paints vivid pictures of the times her characters lived. They make entertaining reading and escapism

‘Another superb book by Dee, couldn’t put it down. This book is a great read and I fully recommend it… The ending is quite a surprise’

‘A well written book – good story line and interesting characters. A story that you could relate to’

Reviews

'An inspiring tale, full of surprises, intrigue and suspense'
Newcastle Evening Gazette
'An inspiring tale'
Woman's Weekly
'Another fine saga by this ever-popular author'
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
'Harsh times, brave hearts and always a hint of hope'
Northern Echo