We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Can you hide from the darkness within?

Dean Koontz writes a thrilling tale in Hideaway, as the effects of a near-fatal accident have devastating results. Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Stephen King.


‘Koontz leaps beyond the bounds of the usual supernatural thriller. Hideaway is a novel of ideas.’ – Lexington Herald-Leader

Although accident victim Hatch Harrison dies en route to the hospital, a brilliant physician miraculously resuscitates him. Given this second chance, Hatch and his wife Lindsey approach each day with a new appreciation of the beauty of life – until a series of mysterious and frightening events brings them face to face with the unknown.

Although Hatch was given no glimpse of an afterlife during the period when his heart had stopped, he has reason to fear that he has brought a terrible presence back with him… from the land of the dead.
When people who have wronged the Harrisons begin to die violently, Hatch comes to doubt his own innocence – and must confront the possibility that this life is just a prelude to another, darker place.

What readers are saying about Hideaway:

‘He is a genius at psychological manipulations and you will know visceral fear

Spellbinding, heart-breaking and truly fearsome

‘A stylish, dark and totally enthralling thriller which crackles with energy, menace and surprises

Reviews

Koontz leaps beyond the bounds of the usual supernatural thriller. Hideaway is a novel of ideas
Lexington Herald-Leader
A chiller capable of leaving emotional bruises on readers
Associated Press
This is not just a chilling novel; it's an igloo in mid-winter with the air-conditioning on. Taut... gripping... the ending is dead-solid perfect
The Raleigh News & Observer
A taut serial-killer thriller and surprising occult fantasy. Chillingly convincing. It does exactly what it sets out to do and does it well
Locus
Dean Koontz has always boldly gone where no other fiction writer has even considered going before. As ever, the writing is fluid, the dynamic taut and the relationships between characters compulsive
The Times
Koontz's art is making the reader believe the impossible... sit back and enjoy it
Sunday Telegraph
Dean Koontz is a prose stylist whose lyricism heightens malevolence and tension. [He creates] characters of unusual richness and depth
The Seattle Times
Tumbling, hallucinogenic prose.... 'Serious' writers... might do well to examine his technique
The New York Times Book Review
In every industry there exist 'artists' that are not only unforgettable, but know their craft better than the rest. Dean Koontz... is among these artisans
Suspense Magazine
[Koontz] has always had near-Dickensian powers of description, and an ability to yank us from one page to the next that few novelists can match
Los Angeles Times