We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Devil Aspect

The Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize, 2019

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781472128331

Price: £7.99

ON SALE: 31st October 2019

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A masterclass in suspenseful, character-driven prose fiction. Simply exceptional’
Frank Darabont, writer and director of The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile

The best twist I have ever read’ (Michael Ridpath, author of Traitor’s Gate)

‘Breathtaking’
(Daily Mail)

‘Wildly entertaining . . . truly frightening’
(New York Times)
_____________

How do you find a killer when you’re surrounded by madness?

1935. As Europe prepares itself for a calamitous war, six homicidal lunatics – the so-called ‘Devil’s Six’ – are confined in a remote castle asylum in rural Czechoslovakia. Each patient has their own dark story to tell and Dr Viktor Kosárek, a young psychiatrist using revolutionary techniques, is tasked with unlocking their murderous secrets.

At the same time, a terrifying killer known as ‘Leather Apron’ is butchering victims across Prague. Successfully eluding capture, it would seem his depraved crimes are committed by the Devil himself. Maybe they are… and what links him with the insane inmates of the Castle of the Eagles?

Only the Devil knows. And it is up to Viktor to find out.
_____________

‘Deep, dark, and twisty . . . a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!’ Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author of The Yard

‘Elegant, edgy, ingenious‘ A. J. Finn, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

Drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming . . . gets under your skin slowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knifeNew York Times

‘Sensational . . . twists are jaw-dropping . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris’ Publishers Weekly

A thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind’ Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse

A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller‘ Lincoln Child, New York Times bestselling author

‘Dark, stylish and packed with jaw-dropping twists . . . an astonishing piece of work’ M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show

‘A superior thriller, at once stylish, absorbing and compulsive’ Laura Carlin, author of The Wicked Cometh

‘Well-crafted gothic crime . . . smart, atmospheric’ Kirkus Reviews

A Gothic masterpiece in psychological horror and creeping dread ‘ Neil Broadfoot, author of No Man’s Land

Deliciously authentic and darkly atmospheric‘ Graham Smith, author of Death in the Lakes

What's Inside

Read More Read Less