We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Loving Husband

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405534697

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 7th April 2016

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

A RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK


‘Wow. This one will keep your bedside light on until the small hours – it’s unputdownable’
Richard & Judy


For fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Silent Wife, The Loving Husband draws readers into a marriage where nothing is as it seems…

Fran Hall and her husband Nathan have moved with their two children to a farmhouse on the edge of the Fens – a chance to get away from London and have a fresh start.

But when Fran wakes one night to find Nathan gone, she makes a devastating discovery. As questions about her husband and her relationships start to mount, Fran’s life begins to spiral out of control.

What is she hiding from the police about her marriage, and does she really know the man she shared her bed with?

THE LOVING HUSBAND is read by Clare Corbett, the acclaimed narrator of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and THE WIDOW


Reviews

Kent is an extremely fine writer and makes terrific use in particular of the Fens' waterlogged, empty landscape in which secrets can be easily buried if never quite forgotten . . . Terrifyingly good
Metro
Shocking in the extreme. The Loving Husband is a twisted psychological thriller
Sun
Atmospheric and psychologically acute throughout Sunday Times
Sunday Times
Christobel Kent is one of our most assured thriller writers. The Loving Husband is a perfectly paced and plotted novel
Good Housekeeping
Firmly in the currently fashionable "domestic noir" genre, but this is no catchpenny trend-chasing; Kent effortlessly rises above other entries in the field . . . the familiar is confronted and inverted and Kent's ace in the hole is her keen penetration of the characters' psychology, particularly that of beleaguered heroine Fran
Barry Forshaw, Financial Times
Unsettling domestic thriller . . . Spooky and skilfully written, this is one to race through
Sunday Mirror
Fans of a good old-fashioned page-turner will love this
Closer
A tautly plotted trail of red herrings, scares and eventual revelations that keep the Gone Girl fever-type buzz alive
Jon Wise, Weekend Sport
A clever and claustrophobic tale
Literary Review
The critically-acclaimed author of The Crooked House, brings us this compulsive psychological thriller about family, secrets and the lies we tell ourselves . . . With a distinctive style and menacing plot, Kent delivers a mesmerising read
Peterborough Telegraph
A finely-crafted series of flashbacks . . . excellent thriller . . . tense, dense, extremely well-plotted and beautifully written, this is a fine example of the Domestic Noir genre
Sunday Irish Independent
Wow. This one will keep your bedside light on until the small hours - it's unputdownable.
Richard & Judy