We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie’ The Sunday Times

Discover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions.

The compelling fifth novel in the Midsomer Murders series by Caroline Graham, starring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby. Features an exclusive foreword by John Nettles.

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and James Runcie’s The Grantchester Mysteries.

The Fawcett Green bell-ringers don’t bat an eyelid when Simone Hollingsworth fails to turn up to practice. They merely assume that bell-ringing has become the latest in a long list of her abandoned hobbies.

But then the increasingly strange behaviour of Simone’s husband, Alan, begins to raise neighbourly suspicions about her whereabouts. And when the discovery of a body draws Chief Inspector Barnaby to the village, it becomes clear that unravelling the couple’s tangled lives will have painful repercussions for the whole village. . .

Praise for Caroline Graham’s novels:

‘Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery’ Sunday Telegraph

‘A witty, well-plotted, absolute joy of a book’ Yorkshire Post

‘A treat . . . haunting stuff’ Woman’s Realm

‘Swift, tense and highly alarming’ TLS

‘Lots of excellent character sketches . . . and the dialogue is lively and convincing’ Independent

‘Hard to praise highly enough’ The Sunday Times

‘Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right’ Julie Burchill

‘Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters’ Birmingham Post

‘Read her and you’ll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny’ Scotsman

Reviews

A mystery of which Agatha Christie would have been proud. . . A beautifully written crime novel
The Times
Tension builds, bitchery flares, resentment seethes . . . lots of atmosphere, colourful characters and fair clues
Mail on Sunday
Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery
Sunday Telegraph
A witty, well-plotted, absolute joy of a book
Yorkshire Post
A treat . . . haunting stuff
Woman's Realm
Wickedly acid, yet sympathetic
Publishers Weekly
Swift, tense and highly alarming
TLS
Lots of excellent character sketches . . . and the dialogue is lively and convincing
Independent
One to savour
Val McDermid
Hard to praise highly enough
The Sunday Times
Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right
Julie Burchill
Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters
Birmingham Post
Read her and you'll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny
Scotsman
The mystery is intriguing, the wit shafts through like sunlight . . . do not miss this book
Family Circle