We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie’ The Sunday Times

Discover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions.

Featuring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby and created by Caroline Graham, Death in Disguise is the third Midsomer Murders mystery, now featuring an exclusive foreword by John Nettles, ITV’s DCI Tom Barnaby. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, James Runcie’s The Grantchester Mysteries and Ann Granger.

To the distaste of the Compton Dando villagers, the big house has been taken over by a group of New Age eccentrics. And when the first death is reported, no one is surprised . . . or disappointed. The Coroner rules it an accident.

But only weeks later, there’s another death. And this time, it is murder.

Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby is called to the scene immediately, and there’ll be no escape until he has sifted through the world of psychics, cult leaders and horrifying deaths to get to the cause of it all.

Praise for Caroline Graham’s novels:

‘Swift, tense and highly alarming’ TLS

‘Tension builds, bitchery flares, resentment seethes . . . lots of atmosphere, colourful characters and fair clues’ Mail on Sunday

‘A mystery of which Agatha Christie would have been proud. . . A beautifully written crime novel’ The Times

‘Wickedly acidic, yet sympathetic’ Publishers Weekly

‘Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery’ Sunday Telegraph

‘Read her and you’ll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny’ Scotsman

Reviews

A mystery of which Agatha Christie would have been proud. . . A beautifully written crime novel
The Times
Tension builds, bitchery flares, resentment seethes . . . lots of atmosphere, colourful characters and fair clues
Mail on Sunday
Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery
Sunday Telegraph
A witty, well-plotted, absolute joy of a book
Yorkshire Post
A treat . . . haunting stuff
Woman's Realm
Wickedly acid, yet sympathetic
Publishers Weekly
Swift, tense and highly alarming
TLS
Lots of excellent character sketches . . . and the dialogue is lively and convincing
Independent
Hard to praise highly enough
The Sunday Times
Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right
Julie Burchill
Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters
Birmingham Post
Read her and you'll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny
Scotsman
The mystery is intriguing, the wit shafts through like sunlight . . . do not miss this book
Family Circle
One to savour
Val McDermid