Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Wrong Child

The Wrong Child

How far would you go to protect your child?


When tragedy strikes in a small Scottish village, everyone in the community is affected.



Most people believe one child is to blame for what happened.

But could a young boy really be responsible? And what lengths will his parents go to protect him?

THE WRONG CHILD is the most thought-provoking novel of 2018, perfect for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver and MY ABSOLUTE DARLING by Gabriel Tallent.

****************

READERS ARE CALLING THE WRONG CHILD ‘UNFORGETTABLE’:

‘Amazing’ – Amazon 5* review

A great page-turner!‘ Amazon 5* review

‘Hopefully it will receive the wider audience it so richly deserves’ – Amazon 5* review

‘Challenges your notions and ideals of morality’ – Amazon review

‘Will stick with you long after you finish it!’ Amazon review

****************

What the critics are saying about THE WRONG CHILD:

‘A thought-provoking read’ – THE SUN

‘Genuinely gripping’ – THE HERALD

‘A study of guilt and grief’ – DAILY MAIL

‘Brilliant, but dark as hell’ – METRO

‘Astonishing’ – PSYCHOLOGIES

‘So visceral it seeps into your pores’ – DAILY RECORD

‘Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic’ – BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning author
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 2nd November 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409171836

Reviews

[Gornell's] admirable single-mindedness and cool nerve are allied to a highly developed prose style which effectively conjures up a mood of darkness, intense cold and moral ambiguity - one in which nature itself feels complicit in the actions of the people. It is genuinely gripping
THE HERALD
A deeply unsettling tale of loss, abandonment and revenge
THE LIST
Reviews of the most thought-provoking thriller of the year, for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver, BIG LITTLE LIES by Liane Moriarty and MY ABSOLUTE DARLING by Gabriel Tallent: 'Brilliant, but as dark as hell. The British version of Daniel Woodrell'
METRO
[An] uncompromising story of grief, anger, abandonment and decay
SCOTS MAGAZINE
God, this is dark. A study of guilt and grief
DAILY MAIL
The Wrong Child is a startling and uncompromising story of grief and anger, of abandonment and decay. It's intense - darker than dark - but also original and beautiful
HELEN FITZGERALD, author of Viral, Dead Lovely and The Cry
Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic
BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning author of THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER
A very thought-provoking read
THE SUN