Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)

On sale

2nd June 2016

Price: £19.99

Select a format

Selected: Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781472237125

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The brand-new Istanbul crime thriller staring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, ‘the Morse of Istanbul’ (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. ON THE BONE is perfect for fans of Donna Leon.

In Istanbul – the golden city on the Bosphorus – ancient myths and modern evils are at work…

On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas’s death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh.

Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim?

Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey’s old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

(P)2016 Headline Digital

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Sunday Times
Intelligent and captivating
Daily Telegraph
Inspector Çetin Ikmen is one of detective fiction's most likeable investigators, despite his grumpy and unsociable character...think of him as the Morse of Istanbul
Guardian
Impeccable mystery plotting, exotic and atmospheric
Independent
The delight of Nadel's books is the sense of being taken beneath the surface of an ancient city... We look into the alleyways and curious dark quarters of Istanbul, full of complex characters and louche atmosphere
Mail on Sunday
Nadel's evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction
Literary Review
Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant