Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

On sale

23rd February 2023

Price: £9.99

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781529391732

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A New York Times Bestseller!

Don’t chase fate. Let fate chase you.


‘Clever, creative, and exquisitely written’ Stephanie Garber

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the ‘true bride’ will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong – Mina’s brother’s beloved – to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina’s brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong’s stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all.

But she doesn’t have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking . . .

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.

‘A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling’ Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes

‘A true jewel of a story’ Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Warrior Bards series
With its captivating world-building, fast-paced story and cast of memorable characters, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will charm, delight and surprise readers
Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval and Once Upon a Broken Heart
A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate
Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes
A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I'd had when I was growing up . . . A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come
Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend
A true jewel of a story that shines in the world of fantasy . . . This beautifully woven tale brimming with heart, spirit, and love is a dream you'll never want to end
Ellen Oh, author of Prophecy and co-founder of We Need Diverse Books
Shim Cheong is Korea's most famous legend and one I've heard all my life, but as a feminist it has always been my least favorite. Axie's book retells the fairy tale and empowers the girl protagonist while still preserving the beloved classic tale, set in a fantastical world so unique and fascinating. I absolutely loved every word!
Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire
A sumptuous fairytale world to dive into full of whimsy and heart. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli!
Buzzfeed
[A] majestic magical marvel of a book
Booklist
Nicely paced and beautifully written, this engrossing fantasy is packed with memorable characters, starting with the headstrong Mina, and including the mysterious Shin, with whom she becomes inexplicably tied . . . A perfect for fit readers who love Spirited Away
Kirkus
Oh weaves an intricate and engaging tale . . . Captivated readers will long to be pulled deeper into the story. A fantastical world to get lost in
Bookish Brews
A luscious and beautiful experience
Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author of A Thousand Steps into Night
Get ready to be swept into a world of gods, spirits, surprising twists, and mingled destinies. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a breathtaking cinematic fairy tale with a courageous heroine at its heart
Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead and This Poison Heart
Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a beautifully written fantasy inspired by Spirited Away and steeped in Korean mythology. Lyrical prose, incredible world building, and a heroine worth rooting for - this story is everything and then some. A stunning feat of storytelling and an un-put-downable read. I wish I could read it again for the first time. Absolutely exquisite!
Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights
A tale brimming with love. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will whisk you away on an entrancing journey through the most magical realm. Axie Oh's characters own my whole heart
June CL Tan, author of Jade Fire Gold
'A wondrous, richly imagined tale of love, family, and sacrifice. Axie Oh's lyrical prose sweeps you into an extraordinary world of myth and legend, where gods of lore live and breathe, and one girl's determination to change her fate will capture your heart. Fans of Studio Ghibli will adore this magical story!
BuzzFeed News SFF round-up
This YA fantasy is an enthralling mix of magic, romance, and high stakes, with lovely worldbuilding at its centre
Xiran Jay Zhao, New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow
The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea captivated me with its depiction of a spirit realm rooted in Korean myth and moved me with the power of love and family in its story. A beautiful new favorite of mine!
Lifestyle Northeast
A magical odyssey of gods, mythical beasts and enchanted spirits
Mr B’s Bookseller’s Dozen
A world deep down under the sea, a motley crew of demons and spirits, and a young girl willing to do anything to save her brother - a recipe for a great new fantasy
BuzzFeed
Majestic, magical marvel of a book
Culturefly
A soulful story with big-hearted characters and a truly whimsical setting, The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea offers readers a dose of pure fantasy escapism. Something we need now more than ever
SFX
At all times it's fanciful and vibrant, a love letter to the mythology of Oh's childhood... It's beautifully written, its poetry-tinged prose elevating it above other similarly themed YA novels
Armadillo Magazine
Swept me away to another world - an enchanting and lyrical tale, perfect for fans of Midnight in Everwood
The New York Times
Spellbinding
Tor.com
A lush, compassionate reimagining
The Nerd Daily
A beautiful, poetic, heartfelt, and mesmerising retelling
Australian Women’s Weekly
Tender, precious feminist retelling of Korean The Tale of Shim Cheong ... An enigmatic, epic achievement
Waterstones
A breathtaking aquatic fantasy, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea mines mythology and folklore to tell the bewitching story of a slumbering sea god, a ritual sacrifice and a sweeping adventure to release a community from the grip of a sinister power
Irish Examiner
A modernised, mythological tale about fate and courage with a young heroine at the very heart of it. Oh's well-paced novel poses an intriguing and critical question for young adults - should we believe everything we hear? Oh's world is comprised of much more than just gods, spirits, and mythical creatures, it really gives the reader something to chew on after the final pages. Recommended for ages 13 to 17
ReadingZone
A beautiful and enchanting re-telling of a Korean legend ... mesmerising