We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781529391725

Price: £19.99


Deadly storms. An ancient curse. Will her sacrifice save them all?

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the ‘true bride’ will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong – Mina’s brother’s beloved – to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina’s brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong’s stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all.

But she doesn’t have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking . . .

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.

‘Clever, creative, and exquisitely written’ Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

‘A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling’ Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes

(P) 2022 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Reviews

With its captivating world-building, fast-paced story and cast of memorable characters, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will charm, delight and surprise readers
Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Warrior Bards series
A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate
Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval and Once Upon a Broken Heart
A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I'd had when I was growing up . . . A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come
Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes
A true jewel of a story that shines in the world of fantasy . . . This beautifully woven tale brimming with heart, spirit, and love is a dream you'll never want to end
Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend
Shim Cheong is Korea's most famous legend and one I've heard all my life, but as a feminist it has always been my least favorite. Axie's book retells the fairy tale and empowers the girl protagonist while still preserving the beloved classic tale, set in a fantastical world so unique and fascinating. I absolutely loved every word!
Ellen Oh, author of Prophecy and co-founder of We Need Diverse Books