We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Last Act of Adam Campbell

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781473680463

Price: £8.99

Select a format:

Paperback
Astoundingly good. Brave, wickedly funny and profoundly affecting. Wow!’ Miranda Dickinson

An emotional punch-packer of a book. Be prepared for it to swallow you wholeMilly Johnson

‘A big-hearted, funny, hugely emotional and uplifting novel – I loved it!Rachael Lucas

Such a beautifully written book with characters that will linger in your head and heartSarah J Naughton

****
You don’t need talent to join this group of actors. The ability to remember lines or stay awake throughout a performance is appreciated, but not essential. The only mandatory is a terminal diagnosis.

But Adam Campbell is less than enthusiastic about this eccentric form of group therapy. He has under one year to live, and a heck of lot to get done. Like explaining mortality to his six-year-old daughter. And making amends with the woman who should have been his wife.

The last thing Adam needs is a part in an amateur production of ‘Shakespeare’s Greatest Deaths’. But help and hope can be found where we least expect them. And perhaps camaraderie, and a shared purpose, will turn out to be the best medicine after all.

As Shakespeare, didn’t quite put it: Shuffling off this mortal coil is a drag; but it’s no reason to stop living.

The Cancer Ladies’ Running Club meets The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot, The Last Act of Adam Campbell is a warm, poignant and wise tale about love, friendship, and making the most of every minute of life that we’re granted.

Reviews

'I'm broken!! Completely and utterly broken!! Andy Jones what have you done to me?! The Last Act of Adam Campbell is a wonderful book and I loved every single page . . . I haven't been able to stop thinking about since I finished it and so it's one I know will be hard to beat when it comes to my favourite books of the year list at the end of 2020 . . . Very highly recommended by me!
MyChestnutReadingTeww.wordpress.com
This book should come with a warning, a packet of tissues plus tea and chocolates to help you recover from the end of it . . . The Last Act of Adam Campbell' is a life affirming and tender story that highlights the fragility of life and the importance of making every second count.
HandwrittenGirl.com
You will need a lot of tissues, as it is funny, sad and touching and really shows the strength of human spirit and how even when everything seems hopeless you can find hope as the group all do in The Rude Mechanicals. A great but heart-wrenching read.
KarenReadsAndRecommends.wordpress.com
One of the most uplifting books I have read in a long time . . . We have a tendency to worry and fret about stupid things in this life that really don't matter. If nothing else, this book has given me the chance to change my priorities and focus more on the things that really matter. And for that, I wholeheartedly thank the author.
NetGalley Reviewer
Wow if this book doesn't make you cry then I'm pretty sure nothing will . . . This book is sad and brutally honest but also filled with love and fun and a story of friendship that changes every single one of their lives for the better. The ending is heartbreaking but beautiful.
NetGalley Reviewer
Despite being an emotional mess at times, I cannot express how glad I am that I have read this book. I found it very cathartic and it made me feel very positive.
NetGalley Reviewer
This beautifully written and heart-warming book is perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls.
BooksLifeEverything.blogspot.co.uk
This is an incredible novel and - if you're not scared to have your heart broken a little (or a lot) - you definitely shouldn't miss it
BookAfterBook.blogspot.com
Oh my, what a beautiful, moving book it is! Full of poignant moments to bring a lump to your throat, it's a story not only about death, but about life, love and everything in between. It's about grabbing hold of life with both hands, no matter how long or short that life may be . . . As difficult as some parts of this book was to read, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. As long as you go in prepared to have your heart broken, aware that it deals with the devastation that death and loss brings, I would say read and experience the beauty of this book for yourself. I know this is a story and characters that will stay with me for a long time to come. Andy Jones has written a moving, poignant and memorable book to be proud of.
CalTurnerReviews.wordpress.com
Astoundingly good. Brave, wickedly funny and profoundly affecting. Wow!
Miranda Dickinson
A moving read
Bella
Such a beautifully written book with characters that will linger in your head and heart
Sarah J Naughton
A powerful and beautiful book about the resilience and fragility of life. It will wring out your heart.
Milly Johnson