Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Spoilt Creatures

On sale

6th June 2024

Price: £18.99

Select a format

Selected: Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781035407910

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

An Observer top ten best new novelist for 2024



‘A simmering debut, heady with the possibilities of language and the righteousness of female rage’
Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Mercies

‘Lush and dreamlike – a sweltering novel, where the sunlight pulses with nightmarish dread’
Colin Walsh, author of Kala

‘A modern-day Dionysian cult of women in the woods – haunting and exhilarating’
Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

‘Emma Cline’s The Girls meets Lord of the Flies . . . compelling, cultish and utterly feral’
Alice Slater, author of Death of a Bookseller
______

They thought they knew everything about us. The kind of women we were.

It was a place for women. A remote farm tucked away in the Kent Downs. A safe space.

When Iris – newly single and living at home with her mother – meets the mysterious and beguiling Hazel, who lives in a women’s commune, she finds herself drawn into the possibility of a new start away from the world of men who have only let her down. Here, at Breach House, the women can be loud and dirty, live and eat abundantly, all while under the leadership of their gargantuan matriarch, Blythe.

But even among the women, there are power struggles, cruelty and transgressions that threaten their precarious way of life. When a group of men arrives on the farm, the commune’s existence is thrown into question, hurtling Iris and the other women towards an act of devastating violence.

Fierce and unapologetic, Spoilt Creatures is an intoxicating debut about transgression, sisterhood and the seductive nature of obsession. It pulls back the skin of patriarchal violence and examines the female rage that lurks beneath.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Georgina Moore, author of 'The Garnett Girls'
A powerful, angry, dark and compelling feminist debut novel. It pulls you in to the visceral world of the women in the commune and it shocks and moves you. Beautifully written
Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of 'The Mercies'
A simmering debut, heady with the possibilities of language and the righteousness of female rage
Jennifer Saint, author of 'Ariadne'
A modern-day Dionysian cult of women in the woods - haunting, exhilarating and full of female rage
Alice Slater, author of 'Death of a Bookseller'
Emma Cline's The Girls meets Lord of the Flies, Spoilt Creatures is compelling, cultish and utterly feral. I'm drinking the Amy Twigg Kool-Aid, and it tastes like blood and rotten summer berries. A firecracker of a debut!"
Ewan Morrison, author of 'Nina X'
An intimate and intense tale of how a safe haven can become a dangerous place, told with much insight and humanity
Ben Tufnell, author of 'The North Shore'
Earthy and visceral, Spoilt Creatures is a depiction of female physicality unlike any I've read before
Colin Walsh, author of 'Kala'
Lush and dreamlike - a sweltering novel, where the sunlight pulses with nightmarish dread
Jennie Godfrey, author of 'The List of Suspicious Things'
This is a book that sinks its claws in and doesn't let go. Filled with atmosphere and incredible prose, it's compulsive reading right up until its terrible, inevitable end
Emily Howes, author of 'The Painter's Daughters'
A gripping, beautifully imagined reflection on women and anger - I couldn't put it down
Lara Williams, author of Supper Club
This lusciously verdant novel is about female identity and obsession, desire and autonomy. It asks important questions about what we owe, and to who. It is rich in grit and dirt, in sensuality and oblivion, working towards a complicated and devastating end
Flora Carr, author of The Tower
Spoilt Creatures is a poignant exploration of loss, female anger, and just how far we can each be pushed. The book is sensual and sinister and achingly sad. A chilling cautionary tale, it's perfect for fans of The Girls by Emma Cline

Events