We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

In Singapore, a family are tested by the onset of the Second World War…

The Long Journey Home is an unforgettable saga from Wendy Robertson of friendship, love and sacrifice during the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Harry Bowling and Dilly Court.


‘A spellbinding story – you’ll find it hard to put down’ – Sunderland Echo

For ten-year-old Sylvie Sambuck, Singapore seems a long way from the fighting of the Second World War. However the advancing Japanese army soon leads to a mass evacuation of the island but, as Sylvie’s family begins to board their ship, there is no sign of Sylvie. Somehow, in the confusion, Sylvie finds refuge with her governess, Virginia Chen. But neither Virginia nor her family believe they will escape the Japanese internment camps, where Virginia may have to pay the ultimate price for Sylvie’s survival.

What readers are saying about The Long Journey Home:

‘A superbly written book’

‘This is the first book I’ve read in ages that made me want to go to bed early so I could read it in peace, and go to sleep late as I didn’t want to put it down

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: A spellbinding story - you'll find it hard to put down
Sunderland Echo
A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo