We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The power of friendship sees two young women through the tough times ahead…

My Dark-Eyed Girl is an arresting, tender saga of two women’s lives, loves and sorrows from much-loved author Wendy Robertson. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Cathy Sharp.


‘Wendy’s great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them… Wendy’s style is deceptively easy’ – Northern Echo

After nursing in the Spanish Civil War, Susan is relieved to set foot on English soil again. By her side is a beautiful, young Spanish woman, Chichu, who has lost her whole family in the fight against Franco and only kept her own life by fleeing.

But adjusting to life in England isn’t easy; Chichu’s foreign temperament is often met with suspicion, and Susan, who discovers that a tragic love affair has left her pregnant, also faces hostility. In desperation they return to Susan’s childhood home, a farm on the Durham fells – now run by a reclusive farmer. But their peace is short-lived as the threat of the Second World War reaches the countryside and Chichu is interned. Unwillingly, Susan turns to Spanish War veteran Aaron Maichin for help, a man whom neither she nor Chichu ever trusted…

What readers are saying about My Dark-Eyed Girl:

Love, laughter and great characters’

‘A great story with exceptional characters

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo
A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo