We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Just when she finds happiness, fate threatens to take it away…

Wendy Robertson weaves a spellbinding saga in A Dark Light Shining – a tale of love, friendship and new beginnings. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Dilly Court.


‘An intense and moving story set against the bitter squalor of the hunger-ridden thirties’ – Today

Blighted by unemployment, County Durham’s New Morven in the 1930s is for most a place to flee from. But eccentric Jenefer Loumis and her war-scarred husband are there by choice and when Fionnoula Montague meets them, she feels more alive than she has ever done. Jenefer Loumis seems to understand the young girl in a way her own tyrannical mother has never done. For it is Jenefer who knows what Finn is experiencing when she meets unemployed miner, Michael O’Toole.

But after Finn is attacked, and Michael imprisoned, even Jenefer cannot stop Finn’s decline. But then Jenefer has a plan that for a short time is to transport Finn to a world Jenefer herself once inhabited, a world of gloss and glitter that returns Finn to New Morven a very different young woman…

What readers are saying about A Dark Light Shining:

‘The gift of a true writer is in the telling of stories and characters that stay with you long after you close the book – and Wendy Robertson is one of those writers’

A Dark Light Shining is rooted in real experiences, and has a heightened vitality and truthfulness

A skilful, imaginative novelist

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: An intense and moving story set against the bitter squalor of the hunger-ridden thirties
Today
A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo