We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

From New York Times bestselling author Tasha Alexander comes a stunning novel of historical suspense set in Victorian England, meticulously researched and with a twisty plot that involves stolen antiquities, betrayal, and murder

Lady Emily’s first mystery . . .

For Emily, accepting the proposal of Philip, the Viscount Ashton, was just an easy way to escape her stifling home life and overbearing mother. So when her new husband dies on safari soon after the wedding, she feels little grief. After all, she barely knew the man.

Now, nearly two years later, she discovers that Philip was a far different man from the one she had married so cavalierly. His journals reveal him to have been a gentleman scholar and antiquities collector who, to her surprise, was deeply in love with his wife. Emily becomes fascinated with this new image of her dead husband and immerses herself in his intellectual pursuits, studying Greek and spending time in the quiet corridors of the British Museum.

But there, amid priceless ancient statues, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret involving stolen artifacts from the Greco-Roman galleries – and as she sets out to solve the crime she discovers even more surprises about the husband she never knew . . .

Praise for Tasha Alexander

This engaging, witty mix of Victorian cozy and suspense thriller draws its dramatic spark from the endearingly headstrong heroine’s growth in life and love. A memorable debutBooklist

Enchanting… Alexander keeps readers guessing until the very endPublishers Weekly

‘Tasha Alexander is one to watch – and read… despite her cliffhanger climaxes and witty repartee, there’s a depth of sensitivity that sets her apart’ The Huffington Post

Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novelThe Denver Post

Reviews

A thoroughly enjoyable adventure with both historical texture and emotional depth
Anne Perry
Tasha Alexander is one to watch – and read… despite her cliffhanger climaxes and witty repartee, there’s a depth of sensitivity that sets her apart
The Huffington Post
Enchanting… Alexander keeps readers guessing until the very end
Publishers Weekly