Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Heart-Shaped

Heart-Shaped

Written with sensitivity, humour and a lightness of touch, HEART-SHAPED is a companion to Siobhan Parkinson’s highly-acclaimed novel, BRUISED – for fans of Meg Rosoff, Aidan Chambers and David Levithan.

Annie makes a startling discovery one day – and everything changes. She fears for the safety of her boyfriend Jonno, who has vanished, knowing he is in desperate trouble. Feeling alone, she clings to her dad, her only parent, but he can’t fill in all the gaps in the puzzle that is Annie’s life. Nor can her best friend. To do that, Annie has to look into her past and understand who her mother was, what happened to her and why.

So the truth behind Jonno’s disappearance – which is the story in BRUISED – becomes a mirror for what’s happening in Annie’s own life. The reader is desperate for him to come back, so that Annie can fully fit the pieces of her existence back together.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Family & Home Stories (children's

On Sale: 1st August 2013

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781444903607

Reviews

very difficult to put down. The reader is drawn in... and needs to know how it ends.
Carousel
Will suit young teen readers bridging the gap between the domestic dramas of Jacqueline Wilson and the grittier world of young adult books.
Booktrust
****
Books For Keeps
A good book for lower KS3, with lots to think about and a very strong underlying story.
School Librarian
Parkinson writes with a light and witty touch, making Heart Shaped a captivating read.
Manchester Evening News
The characterisation is sharp and strong, the settings very skilfully etched, the storyline compelling ...
Robert Dunbar
Believable and heart-rending story.
Independent on Sunday
Poignancy is nicely balanced by wit and literary allusion.
Irish Times
Excellent... extremely moving.
Scottish Daily Record
A richness and complexity.
INIS
The strength of the novel lies in Parkinson's ability to balance seriousness of theme with entertaining moments... clever stuff.
Irish Times
The central voice is extremely engaging.
Bookseller
The full picture of love, death and everything in-between... a touching story.
Daily Post
Contemporary Dublin provides the setting for the engaging story of a young teenager and her efforts to recover from her nightmares.
Irish Times