We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The new novel from the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2018!

‘Sarah Maine is a master of Scottish historical fiction’ Sunday Post

****

On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together…

In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house’s lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby – an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery.

When a body is excavated from Ullaness – the body of someone who was murdered long ago – the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Women of the Dunes is the new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft.

(P) Soundings, 2019

Reviews

Maine's gift of setting the mood shines in her latest novel... Fans of Kate Morton's rich-with-atmosphere novels will feel right at home.
RT Reviews
Praise for The House Between Tides
:
There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's <i>Rebecca</i> in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel
Independent
A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born!
Ronald Frame, author of <i>The Lantern Bearers and Havisham</i>
...it came as a great surprise to learn that this was the author's debut novel. I predict great things for Sarah Maine.
The Book Bag
Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel.
Publishers Weekly
Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...The setting emerges as the strongest personality in this compelling story, evoking passion in the characters as fierce as the storms which always lurk on the horizon. A debut historical thriller which deftly blends classic suspense with modern themes.
Kirkus Reviews
Maine contrasts Hetty's present-day consternation with the past story of Blake and his wife, delivering details at a perfectly suspenseful pace... the historic mystery will keep readers guessing right up until the end.
Booklist
Sarah Maine is a master of Scottish historical fiction
Sunday Post
In Women of the Dunes, her two passions - archaeology and historic fiction - merge powerfully to create the atmospheric world of Libby Snow
Sunday Post
Maine adroitly weaves together the three strands of her novel
Sunday Times
Praise for Beyond The Wild River
:
Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness
The Times
Maine's beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense
Booklist
Descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes frame Maine's riveting portrait of a thoughtful young woman who yearns for more than is offered by her station and her gender, and the rough-and-tumble young man who is inexorably drawn to her.
Publishers Weekly