Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Shadow on the Lens

A Shadow on the Lens

The stifling, atmospheric, gothic crime novel with a unique protagonist and killer twist, perfect for fans of The Woman in Black, The Silent Companions, and Little Strangers



****************

1904. Thomas Bexley, one of the first forensic photographers, is called to the sleepy Welsh village of Dinas Powys. A yound girl named Betsan Tilny has been found murdered in the woodland.

One night, he develops the crime scene photographs in the cellar of his lodgings. There, he finds a face dimly visible in the photographs – the shadowed spectre of Betsan Tilny.

In the days that follow, Thomas senses a growing presence watching him as he tries to uncover what the villagers of Dinas Powys are so intent on keeping secret…


****************

Gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark’GUARDIAN

Top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale‘ – DAVID YOUNG

An intriguing debut‘ – THE TIMES
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 23rd January 2020

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409189879

Reviews

A sparkling debut from a name to watch. Hurcom expertly weaves a tale of claustrophobic suspicion set in a Welsh village a few miles from Cardiff - but so inward-looking and insular you might as well be in another world. This is top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale.
David Young
An intriguing debut.
The Times
A promising debut - gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark.
Guardian
Wonderfully dark and creepy...I find it hard to believe this is Hurcom's first novel. It's creepy, disturbing, eerie, dark, spine-chilling and macabre in every way that a Gothic thriller should be. It will make you uneasy - but you won't want to put it down. There is a clever and quite brilliant final twist
Crime Review