We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

When a young woman faces unimaginable heartache, she vows to make a difference…

A moving saga of anguish, hope and never-ceasing fortitude, The Empty Cradle is a spell-binding and unforgettable tale from bestselling author of
No One’s Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Dilly Court.

‘Goodwin uses her deft touch, natural warmth and superb storytelling skills in a spellbinding story of love, loss and redemption’ – Lancashire Evening Post

To the outside world, Charlotte is the privileged daughter of the local vicar. Behind closed doors, however, she is the prisoner of her controlling father. As she grows up, Charlotte longs for freedom, but her captivating innocence leads her into trouble. Sent to Ireland to hide a shameful pregnancy, she discovers that once again her father has deceived her. She is forced into a convent’s harsh and humiliating regime, where she must eventually give up the one thing that makes her life worthwhile. When Charlotte returns to England, older than her years, she chooses to forget the past. Becoming a London midwife, she longs only to help other women at this hardest and most joyful moment in their lives. But her deep compassion, and desire to prevent anyone else suffering the same horror she did, leads her into a darker and more dangerous place.

What Amazon readers are saying about The Empty Cradle:

‘I have never felt it quite so necessary to write my thoughts about a book. I cannot wait to read more and more of Rosie Goodwin’s books. From the very first page to the very last it holds you page by page. My goodness what an amazing lady this author is. I loved every chapter, every page

‘…this one has to be the best [Rosie Goodwin] by far. Certainly not a book that you can guess the ending, and kept me captivated all through. Fantastic story and written superbly’

Reviews

Praise for Rosie's first novel, THE BAD APPLE: 'Rosie Goodwin is a born storyteller - she'll make you cry, she'll make you laugh, but most of all you'll care for her characters and lose yourself in her story. An author destined for the top
Jeannie Johnson, author of THE REST OF OUR DAYS
Rosie deserves all her success. She is a talented storyteller and will go all the way to the top
Dee Williams
The tearjerker of the season...[a] heart-rending tale
Western Mail
A promising and well-drawn debut
Lancashire Evening Post
A good tearjerker...compelling
Reading Evening Post
A gifted writer... Not only is Goodwin's characterisation and dialogue compelling, but her descriptive writing is a joy
Nottingham Evening Post
A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade
Northern Echo
Goodwin is a fabulous writer...she reels the reader in surprisingly quickly and her style involves lots of twists and turns that are in no way predictable
Worcester Evening News
A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer
Bookseller