We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Rebecca meets The Secret History. Gloriously dark, gloriously gothic‘ Sara Collins, Costa First Novel Award-winning author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

For 150 years, Caldonbrae Hall has loomed high above the Scottish cliffs as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope. A boarding school for girls, it promises that its pupils will emerge ‘resilient and ready to serve society’.

Into its illustrious midst steps Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher and new head of department. Rose is overwhelmed by the institution: its arcane traditions, unrivalled prestige, and terrifyingly cool, vindictive students. Her classroom becomes her haven, where the stories of fearless women from ancient Greek and Roman history ignite the curiosity of the girls she teaches and, unknowingly, the suspicions of the powers that be.

But as Rose uncovers the darkness that beats at the very heart of Caldonbrae, the lines between myth and reality grow ever more blurred. It will be up to Rose – and the fierce young women she has come to love – to find a way to escape the fate the school has in store for them, before it is too late.

Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood and Madeline Miller, Madam is a darkly feminist tale with an electrifying cast of heroines you won’t soon forget.
______________________
Imagine if Donna Tartt and Margaret Atwood got together to write a creepy, suspenseful novel . . . Brooding and unsettling, Wynne paints a gorgeous picture that only serves to camouflage the dark secrets she’s hidden within‘ – Chandler Baker, author of Whisper Network

The simmering menace and mystery kept me absolutely gripped . . . This was a smouldering slow burn of a novel that I could not put down‘ – Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

Strange, dark, and utterly consuming . . . I loved it‘ – Katie Lowe, author of The Furies

Chilling, eerie and very clever. I devoured it‘ – Polly Crosby, author of The Illustrated Child

‘A thrilling debut, reminiscent of Du Maurier. The narrative, written in precise prose with beautifully crafted characters, barrels along at pace, leaving us breathless at each twist and turn. A truly wonderful read’ – Nydia Hetherington, author of A Girl Made Of Air

I ripped through it and thoroughly enjoyed the ride . . . A highly entertaining and atmospheric read‘ – Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding

Full of fire and light, written with a passionate intensity . . . Madam is a book that shimmers . . . It’s an extraordinary achievement‘ – Now and Fen blog

Reviews

Rebecca meets The Secret History. Gloriously dark, gloriously gothic
Sara Collins, author of THE CONFESSIONS OF FRANNIE LANGTON
Imagine if Donna Tartt and Margaret Atwood got together to write a creepy, suspenseful novel about a school for young women in the Scottish Highlands. The result is Madam, a book I couldn't for the life of me put down. Brooding and unsettling, Wynne paints a gorgeous picture that only serves to camouflage the dark secrets she's hidden within
Chandler Baker, author of WHISPER NETWORK
The simmering menace and mystery kept me absolutely gripped. It gave me the same feeling as when I read The Secret History and put me in mind of The Furies. I loved the clever interweaving stories of the classical women of ancient myth and history with the tantalising reveal of the horrifying truth behind the impressive facade of the grand boarding school. This was a smouldering slow burn of a novel that I could not put down
Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE
Strange, dark, and utterly consuming... I loved it
Katie Lowe, author of THE FURIES
Chilling, eerie and very clever. I devoured it
Polly Crosby, author of THE ILLUSTRATED CHILD
Full of fire and light, written with a passionate intensity . . . Madam is a book that shimmers . . . This is a chilling and shocking read that shouts of the abuse of power. Yet the warmth of its writing and the spell it holds is more powerful than the words give way to. It's an extraordinary achievement
Now and Fen blog
I ripped through it and thoroughly enjoyed the ride. It had real echoes of Jean Brodie and a flavour of one of my favourite films Heathers, too! A highly entertaining and atmospheric read
Kate Sawyer, author of THE STRANDING
A thrilling debut, reminiscent of Du Maurier. The narrative, written in precise prose with beautifully crafted characters, barrels along at pace, leaving us breathless at each twist and turn. A truly wonderful read
Nydia Hetherington, author of A GIRL MADE OF AIR
Brooding, creepy and suspenseful... Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale
Woman & Home