We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad

Leicester Libraries Our Best Book Award, 2016

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781510103559

Price: £7.99

Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Phil Earle’s first novel for younger readers, Demolition Dad is Danny the Champion of the World in Spandex – a hilarious, warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling, illustrated by Waterstones Children’s Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, and perfect for fans of David Walliams.

This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings … and all weekend knocking down wrestlers. He’s the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn’t be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don’t quite turn out the way he expected…

(P) Orion Children’s Books 2017

Reviews

A light-hearted, funny story with a nail-biting conclusion ... The story whizzes along, while Sarah Ogilvie's humorous line drawings are a perfect complement to the text. The first of a promised series, Demolition Dad will be enjoyed by even the most reluctant of readers
The School Librarian
Underneath the high-octane humour and silliness, Earle weaves in powerful themes of father/son relationships, bullying, depression, self-esteem, failure and even frustrated career women. But mostly of love. This is a gloriously life-affirming novel: funny, sensitive, intelligent and with a heart as big as George's waistline.
Daily Mail
A heart-warming story with a very happy ending. The multiple award-winning Sara Ogilvie and her scratchy comic drawings make a perfect foil for this lively and affectionate story.
Books for Keeps
The writing is laugh-aloud funny, as are the antics ... this book has jokes that will appeal to adults and kids alike
Kieran Fanning
This book was so fun my parents got angry I wasn't coming to eat lunch!
Cara, The Guardian
A warm, funny and genuinely touching story of family relationships, in a lycra wrapping
Andrea Reece, Love Reading 4 Kids
Masses of humour, heart, some cracking jokes and moments of real poignancy
The Bookseller
The author creates a chatty relationship with the reader, with nifty asides and jokey puns as he weaves a quirky and frankly ridiculous story ... a very funny book for 8-10 year olds, who, I'm sure, will love it
School Librarian