We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755395743

Price: £4.99

ON SALE: 6th June 2013

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

As Alexander the Great sits with his troops poised to attack, his guides are murdered. Can he uncover the spies in time?

The House of Death is the first mystery in the magnificent Ancient Greece series featuring Alexander the Great and his physician Telamon, by master historian Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.


‘Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander’s conquests’ – The Times

It is 334 BC and the young Alexander sits with his troops by the Hellespont, poised to attack the empire of the great King Darius III. To win the approval of the gods for his enterprise he makes many offerings, yet the smoke does not rise, the sacrificial animals are flawed. Worse, his guides are being brutally murdered, Persian spies are in the camp, and Alexander’s generals have their own secrets. Into this turmoil comes Telamon, a physician and boyhood friend of Alexander. As the climax builds and Alexander throws off his nervous fears, winning a brilliant and bloody triumph over the Persians, Telamon must at last succeed in unmasking their enemies…

What readers are saying about The House of Death:
A book to fall in love with
‘Paul Doherty at his very best! Very well researched – a joy to read
‘Found myself totally engrossed in the book; I could not put it down till I got to the very last page’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less