Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

My Only Story

My Only Story

MY ONLY STORY is a moving, funny and bittersweet novel by Monica Wood, the acclaimed author of THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY, sure to appeal to fans of Sarah Winman, Anne Tyler and Maggie O’Farrell.

‘Wood’s command of voice holds a reader all the way through to the last page’ San Francisco Chronicle

Rita Rosario has a gift, a way with people. She listens to them and really sees them for who they are – warts and all. Women, even men, come to Rita’s beauty shop for perms, town gossip, and makeovers of their very lives.

John Reed first appears to Rita in one of her dreams. When they meet at a town gathering a few days later, she immediately offers him a haircut, and a heart. As they share stories, Rita helps John fill a void by reconnecting him to his only family – a young niece he nearly lost in a heart-breaking tragedy.

While inspiring John out of loneliness and into reconciliation, Rita begins to come to terms with events in her past… and discovers things about herself she never realised, including her own intimate role in John’s unfolding story.

What readers are saying about MY ONLY STORY:

‘Monica Wood is a beautiful writer and can convey complex emotions in the most beautiful and simple ways. The book stays with you long after you finish it, as do the characters’

‘An enchanting book. Wood’s mastery of the language creates beautiful, sometimes poetic prose. Her ability to express both human pain and human hope is very refreshing. This book is a treasure

One of the best kept secrets of the literary world
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 26th January 2017

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781472232014

Reviews

A wonderful book, a luminous and...lasting work of fiction that tells its story superbly
Maine Sunday Telegram
At once bittersweet, funny, and moving, this finely written romantic novel is well suited for a summer afternoon's read
Library Journal
Luminous... Monica Wood has brilliantly captured the human need to love, the heart's desire to nurture, the soul's urge to sacrifice
Andre Dubus III, author of HOUSE OF SAND AND FOG
A thoroughly captivating book: warm and wise and beautifully written
Richard Russo, author of STRAIGHT MEN
[An] accomplished new novel... Wood's command of voice holds a reader all the way through to the last page
San Francisco Chronicle
One of the best novels I've read in the past year... A small gem to be read, reread, and, yes, treasured
The Roanoke Times
Praise for THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY: 'Beautifully written, cleverly constructed, at times hilariously funny and ultimately deeply affecting - this should be a smash'
Sunday Mirror
Clever, intricate plot, beautifully sketched characters and life-affirming message of self-discovery
Stylist
A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations
Daily Mail
Curl up and enjoy this bewitching novel
Woman & Home
This inspirational tale of friendship, world records and following dreams is a stunner
Heat