Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Village School

Village School

The very first Miss Read novel – set in a charming 1950s English countryside community, perfect nostalgia for fans of CALL THE MIDWIFE or Gervase Phinn.

‘An affectionate, humorous and gently charming chronicle … sometimes funny, sometimes touching, always appealingNew York Times

Fairacre is a village of cottages, a church and the school – and at the heart of the school, its headmistress, Miss Read.

Through her discerning eye, we meet the villagers of Fairacre and see their trials and tribulations, from the irascible school cleaner Mrs Pringle, to the young schoolchildren with their scraped knees, hopeful faces and inevitable mischief.

Miss Read takes us through the school year, beginning with the Christmas term when the bitterly cold weather challenges the school’s ancient heating system, right through to the hot summer day when school is over for another year.

VILLAGE SCHOOL is an intriguing glimpse into a forgotten world and has become a true classic.
Read More

Genre: Lifestyle, Sport & Leisure / Local Interest, Family History & Nostalgia / Nostalgia: General

On Sale: 19th August 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409130529