We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Home

The Home

Once inseparable, Joel and Nina haven’t spoken in twenty years.

When Joel’s mother Monika develops dementia, he has no choice but to return to his home town. Monika needs specialist care, and that means Pineshade – which also means Joel is going to have to deal with his one-time best friend, for Nina works there.

It’s not long before Monika’s health deteriorates – she starts having violent, terrifying outbursts, and worse, she appears to know things she couldn’t possibly know. It’s almost as if she isn’t herself any more . . . but of course, that’s true of most of the residents at Pineshade.

Only Nina and Joel know Monika well enough to see the signs; only by working together can they try to find answers to the inexplicable . . .

The Home is an eerie story about love, friendship and the greatest fear of all: losing control of ourselves . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 6th August 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781529402179

Reviews

With a never-failing humanism and a deep understanding of the genre, The Home is the true proof that Sweden has a new horror king
City/SWE
With The Home Mats Strandberg nails his position as one of the best Swedish horror writers
Skånska Dagbladet
Mats Strandberg is marvellous when he lets us feel the approaching catastrophe: we feel an ice-cold chill . . . Psychology, guilt and painful secrets
Tara
The Home gives me goosebumps along my arms all the way up my shoulders, and shows that there is no need for armies of aliens, zombies or blood-sucking foxes. A different voice is just enough
Expressen
What a storyteller! The characters' failures, love stories, everyday matters, insights and shortcomings shimmer in his hands: the very ordinary life becomes a little bit more beautiful. And yes, the horrifying becomes much more horrifying than in reality as well. Although it is the shimmer that stays with you when the book is over
DAGENS NYHETER (Sweden's biggest morning newspaper)
Very cinematic, and with characters who have real psychological depth. Mats Strandberg scares his readers in a most refined way. This is a brilliant story
SVT
Strandberg's ability to capture everyday life and environments and to create personalities wins
Sveriges Radio
Good characters, clever story, plenty of scares. A great read. Admit yourself to The Home right now.
John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In
Mats Strandberg is a literary cult waiting to happen: a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist (Let the Right One In)
Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard Light
What can make a horror story stand out from the rest of the pack is when It hits home in a personal way, when an unnatural twist could be a very close reality. That's the case in this Sweden-set story . . . This one will upset you while making you fill your pants
Weekend Sport
A strange and satisfyingly creepy novel which unravelled in the most unique of settings . . . enjoyable, addictive, unique and chilling . . . this story dug right beneath my skin and remained there long after I turned the final page
The Book Babe
This elegant Swedish slow-burner is imbued with horror interwoven with regret, guilt, memory and shame.
Metro
Mat Strandberg doesn't disappoint, even though it was a bittersweet ending. This one's going to stay with me for a bit; not because of the horrors unknown, but for the horrors that lurk just around the corner
Nest of Books