We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781786155948

Price: £2.99

Select a format:


Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.


atmospheric and brimming with suspense, Mark Ellis presents this insanely captivating wartime thriller of classic espionage.

The second instalment in the Frank Merlin Series, following on from Princes Gate. Previously published as Stalin’s Gold.

‘A richly atmospheric, authentic, and suspenseful detective series‘ – Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author

‘So immaculately nuanced they genuinely feel like they belong in the cannon of mid-20th century thrillers . . . Another belter!’ – Fiona Phillips

A truly spellbinding page turner that keeps you hooked right to the end’ – Dorset Book Detective

‘Brimming with action . . . complex, addictive and highly entertaining . . . I cannot wait to read more books by Mark Ellis’ – The Book Cosy Book Club

Brimming with authentic details . . . A compelling tale of crime fiction’ – Foreword Reviews

‘A mammoth read with a Dickensian plethora of characters that I thoroughly enjoyed immersing myself in . . . meticulously researched . . . deliciously complex‘ – CARAMEROLLOVESBOOKS

As the Battle of Britain rages above, DCI Frank Merlin and his officers investigate the sudden disappearance of Polish RAF pilot Ziggy Kilinski – while battling the looting unleashed by the chaos and destruction of the Blitz.

Unbeknownst to Merlin and his team, Russian spies have also been set loose on the city – instructed to retrieve Stalin’s lost gold.

Kilinski’s fellow pilots, a disgraced Cambridge don, members of the Polish government in exile and a ruthless Russian gangster are amongst those caught up in Merlin’s enquiries.

Sweeping from Stalin’s Russia to Civil War Spain, Hitler’s Berlin to Churchill’s London, a compelling story of treasure, treachery, and murder unfolds.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

The DCI Frank Merlin Series