We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Sig Andersson has a choice to make – use the gun or die. An unforgettable, razor-sharp psychological thriller set in the snowy wilderness of the Arctic Circle. Recipient of a Michael L. Printz Honor 2011, shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2010 and longlisted for the GUARDIAN Children’s Fiction Prize 2010.

1910. A cabin north of the Arctic Circle. Fifteen-year-old Sig Andersson is alone. Alone, except for the corpse of his father, who died earlier that day after falling through a weak spot on the ice-covered lake. His sister, Anna, and step-mother, Nadya, have gone to the local town for help.

Then comes a knock at the door. It’s a man, the flash of a revolver’s butt at his hip, and a mean glare in his eyes. Sig has never seen him before but Wolff claims to have unfinished business with his father.

As Sig gradually learns the awful truth about Wolff’s connection to his father, his thoughts are drawn to a certain box hidden on a shelf in the storeroom, in which lies his father’s prized possession – a revolver.

As the stakes rise and Wolff begins to close in, Sig’s choice is pulled into sharp focus. Should he use the gun?

Reviews

A gripping thriller
THE GUARDIAN
A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions.
KIRKUS REVIEWS, STARRED REVIEW
Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, STARRED REVIEW
An elegant, brilliantly executed tale... This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length.
THE TIMES
A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.
THE HORN BOOK, STARRED REVIEW
The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.
SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW
REVOLVER crackles with more razor-sharp tension and tightly coiled plotting than books twice its length
THE DAILY MAIL