Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

For the Missing

For the Missing

‘A thriller that lingers in the memory’ SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB
‘Dark Nordic noir’ THE i
‘A global bestseller’ SUNDAY TIMES

The award-winning, international bestselling Swedish crime debut about a missing girl, and the detective who must return home and confront her darkest secrets in order to find her – for fans of MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I’M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell.

______________________________________

THE MISSING

Nora’s daughter Annabelle has disappeared, last seen on her way home from a party.

THE LOST
Gullspång’s inexperienced police are wilting under the national media spotlight – and its residents desperate for answers.

THE CLOCK IS TICKING
Stockholm DI Charlie Lager must return home to find Annabelle, and then get out of town as soon as she can. Before everyone discovers the truth about her . . .

If you liked MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I’M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell you will love FOR THE MISSING, the international crime bestseller with a stunning ending.
______________________________________

WHAT REAL READERS ARE SAYING:

‘Oh My Gosh! This is epic!’
‘This is a great crime mystery
‘An interesting and fascinating read’
Highly recommended
‘I am just amazed when a debut author presents a crime thriller in a fresh way’
‘The tension grows and grows up to a stunning conclusion’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 27th June 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409179351

Reviews

A brilliant, dense crime novel
Dagens Nyheter (Sweden)
The next big Swedish crime sensation
Dagbladet (Norway)
A wonderful debut
Dziennik Zachodni (Poland)
This smash hit Swedish debut breathes new life into a few well-worn det-fic themes to create a thriller that lingers in the memory
SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB
This debut novel from a psychology teacher upholds the recent tradition of dark Nordic noir. A girl goes missing on her way home from the party in the forested village of Gullspang. Enter a Stockholm detective with a secret of her own
THE i PAPER
A powerful Scandi Noir debut by a promising new author ... Atmospheric, evocative and with a heroine who overcomes some of the genre's clichés, this is a first-class procedural with all shades of grey unveiled like onion peel as the narrative progresses. With various parallel story strands deepening the mystery before they all come together in a flurry of unwelcome truths, this makes for an altogether excellent thriller
Maxim Jakubowski, CRIME TIME
This debut novel is intelligent and arresting. And grim
Mat Coward, MORNING STAR
This may be the debut novel for Lina Bengtsdotter, but it immediately slots her into the pantheon of Scandi Noir greats. She is a seamstress. She weaves a wonderful, embracing picture of life in a down-at-heel, dying, remote and rusty, Swedish industrial eyesore; and gradually unpicks the different threads, laying each out, its sparse clarity giving the reader a myriad of separate storylines ... For The Missing begins with the speed and power of a hydrofoil on the dangerous lake, and delves deeply into a sea of contradictions: not just involving the search for the missing girl, but the enthralling personalities and twists that Bengstdotter creates ... the pace is fast and unrelenting, but the style allows the reader to relax and absorb the plot ... For The Missing takes crime fiction to a disturbingly personal, high level
Tony R. Cox, SHOTS MAG