Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Jamie

On sale

30th March 2023

Price: £7.99

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781510110922

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

One of the Guardian’s best children’s and YA books of 2023

‘FABULOUS, HOPEFUL, IMPORTANT’ – Emma Carroll

‘A sensitive, moving 9+ story about fighting for acceptance and change’ – Guardian

‘An inspirational story of a young person finding the strength and resilience to be exactly who they are’ – The Scotsman

A beautiful and uplifting story from L.D. Lapinski, author of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency, about how to make your own place when the world doesn’t think you fit anywhere. For fans of Me, My Dad and The End of The Rainbow.

Jamie Rambeau is a happy 11-year-old non-binary kid who likes nothing better than hanging out with their two best friends Daisy and Ash. But when the trio find out that in Year Seven they will be separated into one school for boys and another for girls, their friendship suddenly seems at risk. And when Jamie realises no one has thought about where they are going to go, they decide to take matters into their own hands, and sort it all out once and for all.

As the friends’ efforts to raise awareness eventually become a rooftop protest against the binary rules for the local schools, Jamie realises that if they don’t figure out a way forwards, they might be at risk of losing both their friends forever…

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Guardian
warm, resourceful ... explored the options open to a gender non-conforming child at the end of year 6 in a town where there are only two secondary schools: one for girls and one for boys
Hannah Gold, author of The Last Bear
A joyful, heartfelt story of claiming your true identity. L. D. Lapinski has created something truly special and also very important
Emma Carroll, author of Secrets of a Sun King
Fabulous, hopeful, important
Imogen Russell Williams, The Guardian
A sensitive, moving 9+ story about fighting for acceptance and change.
Emma Dunn and Helen Symington, The Scotsman
An inspirational story of a young person finding the strength and resilience to be exactly who they are when faced with a difficult choice.
Marieke Nijkamp, author of This is Where it Ends
This book is going to mean a lot to non-binary kids but especially too to kids still learning and figuring things out ... a treasure
Lizzie Huxley-Jones, author of Vivi Conway and the Sword of Legend
Protest, pride and the promise of change; Jamie is magnificent.
Carlie Sorosiak, author of I, Cosmo
A real triumph, bursting with joy
Aisling Fowler, author of Fireborn
A hugely important, deeply moving and utterly joyful story about staying true to yourself and the power of protest. It's impossible to read this book and not come away buoyed with hope for a more accepting and inclusive future. Everyone needs to read Jamie - their story is destined to become a classic. I loved it!