We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Reviews

This is the compulsively readable story of Bennett, a once-famous artist now divorced and impoverished, who lives in his garden studio and spies on his tenants through the windows. Super Host is hilarious, and touching, too; Kate Russo is a terrific storyteller.
Claire Messud
I gobbled up Super Host, Kate Russo's smart, funny, and surprising first novel. She writes with such a generous and insightful eye about love, loneliness and artistic ambition, and has redrawn the lines that connect people in fiction through the most modern and unlikely of settings, the home share.
Jess Walter
Super Host isn't just a charming, compulsively readable, romantically suspenseful novel about a lonely man who gets himself emotionally enmeshed with a series of short-term tenants. Kate Russo's wise and funny debut also has a lot to say about the courage it takes to start over in the middle of your life. It's a joy from start to finish.
Tom Perrotta
Kate Russo's debut Super Host is pure delight-smart, fun, poignant, and deeply satisfying. I loved it
Lily King
Exploring identity, creativity and second chances, Russo's midlife drama is wise, tender and surprising
Mail on Sunday
Brimming with...pure affection
The New York Times Book Review
Funny, sharp, and artistic...A wonderful book flanked with irony, perversity, Rear Window voyeurism, and women who understand the task of reinvention, Super Host is a case study of what we talk about when we talk about success
Lit Hub
In Russo's charming and poignant debut...the author writes with warm sympathy and humour. A treat for fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perrotta
Kirkus