We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

For fans of Downton Abbey and MY LAST DUCHESS…

‘Times change, and sometimes for the better…’


As the twentieth century draws to a close, Esme Reddaway knows that she must uncover the truth. A truth that began during the First World War when Devlin Reddaway fell passionately in love with Esme’s elder sister, Camilla, and promised to rebuild his ancestral home, Rosindell, for her.

But the war changes everything and Devlin returns to England to find that Camilla is engaged to someone else. Angry and vengeful, he marries Esme, who has been secretly in love with him for years. Esme tries to win Devlin’s heart by reviving the annual summer dance. But as the years pass she fears that Rosindell has a malign influence on those who live there, and the revelation of a shocking secret on the night of the dance at Rosindell tears her life apart. Decades later, it is she who must lay the ghosts of Rosindell to rest.

Spanning the last century, Esme’s story of sibling rivalry, heartbreak, betrayal and forgiveness is sure to appeal to fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Downton Abbey.

Reviews

A fast-moving, complex story
The Times
A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings
Daily Mail
Completely unputdownable...a lovely, entrancing book
New Books </i> magazine
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller
Choice </i> magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance
Good Book Guide