We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

1914, the beginning of a blissful, golden summer…

Judith Kinghorn’s The Last Summer is a dramatic and moving novel set against the heartbreak of the First World War. The perfect read for fans of Kate Morton and Sarra Manning.

‘Epic and enthralling’ – Woman & Home

Clarissa is 17, the world her own. Who would know that this could be the last summer?

Deyning Park is in its heyday, the large country house filled with the laughter and excitement of privileged youth preparing for a weekend party. When Clarissa meets Tom Cuthbert, home from university, she is dazzled. Tom is handsome and enigmatic; he is also an outsider. Ambitious, clever, his sights set on a career in law, Tom is an acute observer, and a man who knows what he wants. For now, that is Clarissa. As Tom and Clarissa’s friendship deepens, the wider landscape of political life around them is changing, and soon the world – and all that they know – is rocked irrevocably by a war that changes their lives for ever.

What readers are saying about The Last Summer:

A beautiful story of two people who were meant to be together despite all that life throws at them

‘A gripping storyline full of dilemmas, emotions and overwhelmingly moving events

Beautifully written, compelling, moving & evocative of the era in which it is set. The author deserves every positive accolade’

Reviews

'An enchanting story of love and war, and the years beyond'
Penny Vincenzi
'Don't miss THE LAST SUMMER by Judith Kinghorn. [An] epic and enthralling love story set against the backdrop of the Great War'
Fanny Blake, <i>Woman and Home</i>
'The year is 1914 and love and war are about to transform privileged 16 year old Clarissa's charmed existence forever. This sumptuous romance is made for fans of Downton'
<i>The Lady</i>
A sumptuous, absorbing tale of love in time of war. Judith Kinghorn's novel brilliantly illuminates the experiences of a generation of blighted youth
Rachel Hore
'[An] enchanting debut of Rachel Hore/Downton Abbey ilk, big storytelling stuff of social and political change spanning the First World War and beyond. It's a glorious read, highly recommended'
Sarah Broadhurst, <i>Bookseller</i>
'Judith Kinghorn has beautifully captured the thoughts and feelings of a particular group in a lost generation. From an historical perspective, Kinghorn has clearly done her research which is illustrated in the small details that capture the war and post-war periods, making The Last Summer entirely believable and often shocking... Despite the themes of loss, grief and change, The Last Summer is above all a wonderful and heartbreaking love story... Highly recommended!'
<i>One More Page</i> blog
'Impeccably written and well researched this is an atmospheric and haunting read. It takes the reader from languorous summer days by the lake on a country estate to the horror of the trenches with equal aplomb... Judith Kinghorn skilfully navigates our journey through love and loss... This is the perfect balance of romance and grit by a great new writer. Don't miss it!'
<i>The Riddle of Writing</i> blog
This is a beautifully written and researched book. The imagery of the period as well as the characters remain with the reader after the last page has been turned. Almost elegiac in the way that it conjures up a lost time and an enduring love
Lorna Gibb, author of <i>West's World: The Life and Times of Rebecca West</i>