We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this twisting novel of murder, tragedy and betrayal will haunt you.

A shocking murder. A child witness. A diary of secrets.

1952. Rebecca Waterhouse is just thirteen when her father, suffering from PTSD following the war, kills her mother then himself. As Rebecca ran from the house, she is sure she sees someone standing at the window watching her. But no one believes her.

2018. Iris Waterhouse, a journalist, hears that police are trying to find a woman on the run with her newborn baby. The mother is depressed and the baby, who has Strep B, urgently needs medication. Iris begins to investigate. Meanwhile a woman in her nineties is found wandering on Whittering Beach. She is very distressed about a baby she says she abandoned in 1940.

As Iris gets closer to the missing mother, she starts to read the diary of her grandmother Harriet Waterhouse, who was murdered by her husband decades before. She realises there is a connection between the two families. And in doing so unveils a shocking secret buried years ago.