We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby’s Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Prue’s heart beat hard – she had heard of the low seams of the mines of northwest Durham and she had always had a fear of being enclosed. This was her job, she told herself, this was what she had wanted. She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners below ground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle . . .

Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning – gaining the townspeople’s trust will be her greatest challenge of all. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby’s Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.

Reviews

Gill, a born storyteller, is on fine form as she transports us back to an age of poverty and hardship leavened by the warmth, humanity and loyalty of a tight-knit community and the family ties and friendships that bind them together. An enchanting read for all true romantics.
Lancashire Evening Post