We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781472277848

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 27th April 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Set in the gorgeous, sprawling countryside of the Pacific Northwest, Eileen Garvin’s THE MUSIC OF BEES is about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, and the families we choose for ourselves. Heart-warming, inspirational and redemptive, it is perfect for fans of THE LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS and Rachel Joyce.

‘It’s simultaneously heart-breaking and uplifting, and I loved it’ Abi Daré, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with the Louding Voice

‘This heart-warming, uplifting story will make you want to call your own friends, not to mention grab some honey’ Good Housekeeping

* A Good Housekeeping Book Club Pick * Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 by BookRiot and the New York Post *

After the sudden death of her husband, Alice Holtzman finds herself a social outsider. Reclusive, middle-aged, childless, and with only 850,000 honeybees for company.

On the other side of town, Jake Stevenson and his enormous black mohawk had a bright future in front of them studying music, all until an accident at a high school party leaves him in a wheelchair.

So when Alice nearly crashes her pick-up truck, packed with thousands of restless honeybees, into Jake, the last thing she expects from the near-miss is to find that Jake has a gift: not only is he a natural with bees, but he can hear their buzzing as a form of music. . .

And when Harry, a twenty-four-year-old with debilitating social anxiety, also arrives at the farm looking for work, unexpected friendships begin to blossom.

As these new friends begin to heal one another, all seems right with their world – until the buzzing stops. With a pesticide company threatening the local honeybee population, and everything they have worked for, this trio must unite to defend their bees.

Praise for The Music of Bees. . .

‘Genuinely touching’
Publishers Weekly

‘A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family’
Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

‘A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency’
Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs

‘The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one’s own’
Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom

‘The Music of Bees sings!’
Adriana Trigiani

A delightful book!’
Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars

Reviews

A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family . . . but it's the bees, with all their wonder and intricacy and intrigue, that make this story sing
Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is
A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency
Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs
The Music of Bees is a transportive tale to lighten the heart. Eileen Garvin has woven a hypnotic human story of perseverance and second chances with a glittering love letter to our pollinators. It combines a cast of marvellous characters with an utterly exquisite excursion into the buzzy life of bees. Every page hums with hope, gleaming with a message of our inextricable interconnectedness, both within our own species and to our home of the natural world. The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one's own.
Kira Jane Buxton